Posts tagged with "robots"

Autonomous Cars

Ready or Not, Autonomous Cars are Coming: We are well past the point of autonomous vehicles being a fad. With several production cars around the world already coming from the factory with partial automation features, manufacturers, ride sharing companies, and rental car companies are in an all-out race to lead innovation in autonomous vehicle technology. That intense competition will also lead many to take risks.

 

Auto Insurers Betting on Autonomous to Decrease Frequency of Accidents: Auto insurers have already begun factoring the growth of autonomous and semi-autonomous technologies, such as forward collision warning with autobrake, adaptive headlights, and blind spot assist into future claims projections. In general, the industry is betting on autonomous technology to ultimately decrease the frequency of accidents, but not the severity of accidents that do occur.

 

You Are Being Recorded: One of the most interesting implications of the autonomous vehicle movement on the P&C insurance industry is the vast amount of data that is being collected by these technologies. According to a new studyconducted by J.D. Power in collaboration with Miller Canfield and Mcity, nearly three fourths (74%) of consumers say they are willing to share autonomous vehicle data after a collision, potentially giving insurers broad access into the details surrounding a crash and the ability to expand the current telematics offerings they currently have in place, which offer discounts to safer drivers. According to J.D. Power data, these telematics-powered offerings have been associated with high levels of insurance customer satisfaction.

 

 

RE-ENGINEERING HUMANITY

Everyday new warnings emerge about artificial intelligence rebelling against us. All the while, a more immediate dilemma flies under the radar. Have forces been unleashed that are thrusting humanity down an ill-advised path, one that’s increasingly making us behave like simple machines?

Have a look at the book’s website.

About the Authors

Brett Frischmann is The Charles Widger Endowed University Professor in Law, Business and Economics at Villanova University. He is also an affiliated scholar of the Center for Internet and Society at Stanford Law School, and a trustee for the Nexa Center for Internet & Society, Politecnico di Torino. He has published foundational books on the relationships between infrastructural resources, governance, commons, and spillovers.

Evan Selinger is Professor of Philosophy at the Rochester Institute of Technology, where he is also the Head of Research Communications, Community, and Ethics at the Center for Media, Arts, Games, Interaction, and Creativity. A Senior Fellow at the Future of Privacy Forum, his primary research is on the ethical and privacy dimensions of emerging technology. Selinger is a prolific writer and his next anthology is The Cambridge Handbook of Consumer Privacy, co- edited with JulesPolontesky and OmerTene (Cambridge University Press, forthcoming 2018). A strong advocate of public philosophy, he regularly writes for magazines, newspapers, and blogs, including The Guardian, The Atlantic, Slate, and Wired.

Advance Praise Re-Engineering Humanity

Frischmann and Selinger provide a thoroughgoing and balanced examination of the tradeoffs inherent in offloading tasks and decisions to computers. By illuminating these often intricate and hidden tradeoffs, and providing a practical framework for assessing and negotiating them, the authors give us the power to make wiser choices.

Nicolas Carr, author of The Glass Cage: How Our Computers Are Changing Us, from the Foreword

Re-Engineering Humanity brings a pragmatic if somewhat dystopic perspective to the technological phenomena of our age. Humans are learning machines and we learn from our experiences. This book made me ask myself whether the experiences we are providing to our societies are in fact beneficial in the long run.

Vint Cerf, Co-Inventor of the Internet

Frischmann and Selinger deftly and convincingly show why we should be less scared of robots than of becoming more robotic, ourselves. This book will convince you why it’s so important we embed technologies with human values before they embed us with their own. Douglas Rushkoff, author of Present Shock, Program or Be Programmed, and Throwing Rocks at the Google Bus.

Everybody is suddenly worried about technology. Will social media be the end of democracy? Is automation going to eliminate jobs? Will artificial intelligence make people obsolete? Brett Frischmann and Evan Selinger boldly propose that the problem isn’t the rise of ‘smart’ machines but the dumbing down of humanity. This refreshingly philosophical book asks what’s lost when we outsource our decision-making to algorithmic systems we don’t own and barely understand. Better yet, it proposes conceptual and practical ways to reclaim our autonomy and dignity in the face of new forms of computational control.

Astra Taylor, author of The People’s Platform: Taking Back Power and Control in the Digital Age

A magnificent achievement. Writing in the tradition of Neil Postman, Jacque Ellul and Marshall McLuhan, this book is the decade’s deepest and most powerful portrayal of the challenges to freedom created by our full embrace of comprehensive techno-social engineering. A rewarding and stimulating book that merits repeated readings and may also cause you to reconsider how you live life.

Tim Wu, Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law, Columbia Law School, and author of The Attention Merchants

About Cambridge University Press

Cambridge University Press dates from 1534 and is part of the University of Cambridge. We further the University’s mission by disseminating knowledge in the pursuit of education, learning and research at the highest international levels of excellence. Playing a leading role in today’s global marketplace, we have over 50 offices around the globe, and we distribute our products to nearly every country in the world. We publish titles written by authors in over 100 different countries.

AI, Algorithms and More

Biased Algorithms are everywhere, so at a critical moment in the evolution of machine learning and AI, we need to talk about the societal issues this poses, according to Ralph Müller-Eiselt, an expert in education policy and governance. Müller-Eiselt was interviewed by C. M. Rubin for The Global Search for Education.

How do we ensure that algorithms are always conceived to achieve a positive impact for societies and education, rather than a danger or a risk?  Müller-Eiselt states in The Global Search for Education interview that discussions and debate about “the goals of software systems with social impact” are needed since “it is up to us as a society to decide where such systems should be used and to make sure that they are designed with the right purposes in mind.” He believes that even “algorithms designed with good intentions can produce bad results.”

Müller-Eiselt also discusses how algorithms and AI will impact evolving education systems. While the use of algorithms and AI in education is “still in its initial phase,” he asserts that policy makers should not be waiting to see what happens and react after the fact, but that they should “actively shape regulation now towards sustaining the public good.” He adds that those organizations involved in the design and development of algorithms also have a critical role to play and should be reflecting on their “social responsibility” and how best to create “common standards for professional ethics in this field.”

Read the Interview here

Ralph Müller-Eiselt is an expert in education policy and governance who heads the Bertelsmann Foundation’s taskforce on policy challenges and opportunities in a digitalized world.

CMRubinWorld launched in 2010 to explore what kind of education would prepare students to succeed in a rapidly changing globalized world. Its award-winning series, The Global Search for Education, is a highly regarded trailblazer in the renaissance of 21st century education, and occupies a widely respected place in the pulse of key issues facing every nation and the collective future of all children. It connects today’s top thought leaders with a diverse global audience of parents, students and educators. Its highly readable platform allows for discourse concerning our highest ideals and the sustainable solutions we must engineer to achieve them. C. M. Rubin has produced hundreds of interviews and articles discussing an extensive array of topics under a singular vision: when it comes to the world of children, there is always more work to be done.

For more information on CMRubinWorld

EarthGang Release Video For “Robots”

ATLANTA RAP DUO EARTHGANG RELEASE VIDEO FOR “ROBOTS”

Atlanta rap duo EarthGang, Johnny Venus and Doctur Dot, has released a video for “Robots.” WATCH HERE

EarthGang’s ‘Never Had Sh!t’ co-headlining tour with J.I.D kicks off on November 2nd in Toronto and continues through the end of the month. Lute and Chaz French will be opening on the tour. Tickets are on sale now. Please see below for tour dates.

EarthGang will also join the international leg of J. Cole’s 4 Your Eyez Only World Tour this October. Please visit http://dreamville.com/events/ for all European dates.

The Never Had Sh!t Tour dates are as follows:

11/02 Toronto, ON Adelaide Hall
11/03 Chicago, IL Reggie’s
11/04 Detroit, MI El Club
11/05 Cleveland, OH Grog Shop
11/07 Boston, MA Sonia
11/08 Philadelphia, PA Foundry
11/09 Baltimore, MD Soundstage
11/10 New York, NY SOB’s
11/12 Washington, DC Songbyrd
11/13 Durham, NC Motorco
11/15 Charlotte, NC The Underground
11/17 Tampa, FL The Orpheum
11/18 Miami, FL Hangar

11/19 Orlando, FL Backbooth
11/21 Atlanta, GA Vinyl

For more about EarthGang:
https://soundcloud.com/earthganghbt

https://twitter.com/EarthGang
https://www.instagram.com/earthgang
https://www.facebook.com/EarthGanghbt/