Posts tagged with "conceptual"

The Inaugural Faena Festival

Faena Art presents Faena Festival: This Is Not America.

A New Annual Multidisciplinary Festival during Miami Art Week, from December 3-9, 2018.

The First Faena Festival explores the mythologies and narratives of ‘America’ and commissions new installations and performances that reflect the multiplicity of cultures, voices, and people across its physical, conceptual, and political borders.

Faena Festival: This Is Not America features commissions, installations, and performances by Derrick Adams, Cecilia Bengolea, Alfredo Jaar, Isabel Lewis, Luna Paiva, Tavares Strachan, and Wu Tsang and boychild, among others.

Faena Festival, This Is Not America, is keyed to Miami’s enduring role as a port that welcomes migrants, refugees, and tourists from across the US and the Americas, and from countries throughout the world. The festival engages with the multiplicity of communities and cultures and the palimpsest of histories that have created the Americas while responding specifically to Miami as its hemispheric hub. All programming is free and open to the public.

This Is Not America is anchored by Alfredor Jaar’s groundbreaking work, A Logo for America, and proposes a new curatorial format for presentation that occupies and engages the entire Faena District and extends beyond into public spaces of the city of Miami Beach as an experiential platform. The diverse venues of the Faena District Miami Beach will be activated, including the public areas of the street, sidewalk, and beach; the Faena Hotel, including its theater and screening room; and Faena Forum – the OMA-designed cultural centerpiece of Faena District Miami Beach.

“From the beginning my vision for Faena has been to create a cultural epicenter that draws artists and audiences from throughout the Americas and around the world,” stated Alan Faena, Founder and President of the Faena Group. “The annual Faena Festival will provide a new platform to explore ideas in contemporary culture that fosters engagement with the issues that define us individually and collectively. We are interested in site-specificity and universal impact – in creating a cultural movement without borders, we want to speak to the world. Artists are not limited by geopolitical divides, and ultimately, by celebrating these diverse artists and visions we find ways in which we are all connected.”

“This Is Not America addresses America as concept more than a piece, a contested and powerful idea that is greater than the waters and borders that frame it,” noted Zoe Lukov, curator of Faena Art. “Artists in the Festival have been invited to explore the concept of America as a myth and a narrative that has at times bound and divided us but ultimately has the power to unify. By occupying the interstitial zone between land and sea many of these site-specific installations seek to reimagine porous and transitional spaces as places of refuge and safe harbor that are representative of what our ‘America’ is and can become.”

1 Week until BFFF2018 Kickoff

Simply buy those shoes and get your outfit ready for Berlin Fashion Film Festival’s 7th edition – There are only a couple of days left…

BFFF2018 takes place July 12 and 13 – Save the Date!
Get your Ticket to the festival, the award show, the public screenings & become part of an inspiring community of international creatives, learn about the newest trends and talents in filmmaking and jump-start new business opportunities.

Get a Ticket Here

WHO’S SPEAKING?
The annual two-day conference provides a platform on which the latest trends and talents in the field of moving image marketing, conceptual storytelling and brand communication can be discovered and discussed. See who’s there!

Meet Alyssa Boni
Director/Photographer
Taking part in the panel discussion Moving Stills? Heading off July 13th

Joined by Kai Stöcker – Executive Producer/ Partner – ACNE & Marcus Gaab – Managing Director – The Gaabs
Find out more here

Meet Raoul Keil – Editor in chief/Creative Director – Schön! Magazine
Taking part in the panel discussion FOCUS Emerging Talent taking place July 12th
Joined by
Florian Hucker – Creative Director – Ogilvy & Mather Berlin & Silvia Beck – Principal – MetFilm School Berlin.
Find out more here and at the festival of course!

Check the Program Here

MY PLACE OR YOURS?!


Book your stay for the summit!
Our Partner Hotel, the Mercure Hotel Berlin Wittenbergplatz, is located in the heart of the traditional City West area of Berlin, which has developed in a dynamic fashion over a number of years. It offers 183 inspiring and beautifully designed rooms, which bring you in the mood for creativity.

Book Your Stay Here

Stay, where BFFF’s jury & speakers stay…
Use the booking code BFFF2018 and make your reservation by phone +49 30 259 35 52 51 or by mail to H9147-re1@accor.com to get a special rate of € 99,- per night.*
*Upon availability

RE-ENGINEERING HUMANITY

Everyday new warnings emerge about artificial intelligence rebelling against us. All the while, a more immediate dilemma flies under the radar. Have forces been unleashed that are thrusting humanity down an ill-advised path, one that’s increasingly making us behave like simple machines?

Have a look at the book’s website.

About the Authors

Brett Frischmann is The Charles Widger Endowed University Professor in Law, Business and Economics at Villanova University. He is also an affiliated scholar of the Center for Internet and Society at Stanford Law School, and a trustee for the Nexa Center for Internet & Society, Politecnico di Torino. He has published foundational books on the relationships between infrastructural resources, governance, commons, and spillovers.

Evan Selinger is Professor of Philosophy at the Rochester Institute of Technology, where he is also the Head of Research Communications, Community, and Ethics at the Center for Media, Arts, Games, Interaction, and Creativity. A Senior Fellow at the Future of Privacy Forum, his primary research is on the ethical and privacy dimensions of emerging technology. Selinger is a prolific writer and his next anthology is The Cambridge Handbook of Consumer Privacy, co- edited with JulesPolontesky and OmerTene (Cambridge University Press, forthcoming 2018). A strong advocate of public philosophy, he regularly writes for magazines, newspapers, and blogs, including The Guardian, The Atlantic, Slate, and Wired.

Advance Praise Re-Engineering Humanity

Frischmann and Selinger provide a thoroughgoing and balanced examination of the tradeoffs inherent in offloading tasks and decisions to computers. By illuminating these often intricate and hidden tradeoffs, and providing a practical framework for assessing and negotiating them, the authors give us the power to make wiser choices.

Nicolas Carr, author of The Glass Cage: How Our Computers Are Changing Us, from the Foreword

Re-Engineering Humanity brings a pragmatic if somewhat dystopic perspective to the technological phenomena of our age. Humans are learning machines and we learn from our experiences. This book made me ask myself whether the experiences we are providing to our societies are in fact beneficial in the long run.

Vint Cerf, Co-Inventor of the Internet

Frischmann and Selinger deftly and convincingly show why we should be less scared of robots than of becoming more robotic, ourselves. This book will convince you why it’s so important we embed technologies with human values before they embed us with their own. Douglas Rushkoff, author of Present Shock, Program or Be Programmed, and Throwing Rocks at the Google Bus.

Everybody is suddenly worried about technology. Will social media be the end of democracy? Is automation going to eliminate jobs? Will artificial intelligence make people obsolete? Brett Frischmann and Evan Selinger boldly propose that the problem isn’t the rise of ‘smart’ machines but the dumbing down of humanity. This refreshingly philosophical book asks what’s lost when we outsource our decision-making to algorithmic systems we don’t own and barely understand. Better yet, it proposes conceptual and practical ways to reclaim our autonomy and dignity in the face of new forms of computational control.

Astra Taylor, author of The People’s Platform: Taking Back Power and Control in the Digital Age

A magnificent achievement. Writing in the tradition of Neil Postman, Jacque Ellul and Marshall McLuhan, this book is the decade’s deepest and most powerful portrayal of the challenges to freedom created by our full embrace of comprehensive techno-social engineering. A rewarding and stimulating book that merits repeated readings and may also cause you to reconsider how you live life.

Tim Wu, Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law, Columbia Law School, and author of The Attention Merchants

About Cambridge University Press

Cambridge University Press dates from 1534 and is part of the University of Cambridge. We further the University’s mission by disseminating knowledge in the pursuit of education, learning and research at the highest international levels of excellence. Playing a leading role in today’s global marketplace, we have over 50 offices around the globe, and we distribute our products to nearly every country in the world. We publish titles written by authors in over 100 different countries.