Posts tagged with "computers"

How to Design Your Own Interactive Magic Mirror

Interactive magic mirrors are an interesting piece of tech. In an instant, they are able to provide those that look into them with all sorts of information, from personal skincare tips to what the weather outside is like on that day. They are also transforming the way people are now shopping for clothes and makeup, as they are able to show customers what they look like in certain styles.

If interactive magic mirror tech has taken your fancy, why stop at being a consumer of it? Why not go the whole hog and design your very own? To see what you need to do in order to set about this somewhat difficult yet highly rewarding task, make sure to read on.

Source the right tools and equipment

When it comes to designing an interactive magic mirror, you need an abundance of tools and pieces of equipment by your side:

• Computer screen, mouse, and keyboard

• Basic mirror

• Raspberry PI (extremely important)

• USB power cord

• 8GB SD-card

• Adapter

HDMI-to-VGA adapter

As this is fundamentally a piece of IoT technology, you’re also going to need tools that help you to build a circuit board. The first thing that you need to source in this regard is a PCB design tool. By installing and implementing such a tool into your working process, you will be able to design PCBs from idea to manufacture with ease, especially when you allow the CircuitStudio how-to video to assist you along the way. Other tools needed in this instance include a breadboard, a soldering iron, and etching equipment.

Get your sizes spot on

It is incredibly important that you take the literal size of your task into consideration — if something is even just an inch out of place, the whole project could be ruined. This sentiment rings especially true when it comes to matching your mirror with your computer screen. By choosing a screen that doesn’t fit your mirror, the render that the screens gives will be out of place and, subsequently, made to be all but redundant.

Install your Raspberry PI

The previously mentioned piece of equipment known as the Raspberry PI plays a pivotal role in proceedings, so make sure that you don’t forget to source one. When it comes to installing this equipment, just make sure that only one cord is pulled through the bottom of the mirror’s case — this will stop the tech from becoming overloaded with data and, ultimately, it will stop it from overheating.

Don’t forget to install the Raspbian operating system, as doing so will give you free rein to tap into the PI boot sequence as and when you see fit going forward.

Connect your mirror to the Internet

After all the hard work that you put in, it would be a shame to ruin it all by forgetting to connect your magic mirror to the Internet. Once this connection is forged, your mirror will be able to display real-time information, such as weather reports and news bulletins.

When you decide to design a magic mirror, you will be sure to be occupied for months on end. It will all be worth it in the end, though.

RE-ENGINEERING HUMANITY

Everyday new warnings emerge about artificial intelligence rebelling against us. All the while, a more immediate dilemma flies under the radar. Have forces been unleashed that are thrusting humanity down an ill-advised path, one that’s increasingly making us behave like simple machines?

Have a look at the book’s website.

About the Authors

Brett Frischmann is The Charles Widger Endowed University Professor in Law, Business and Economics at Villanova University. He is also an affiliated scholar of the Center for Internet and Society at Stanford Law School, and a trustee for the Nexa Center for Internet & Society, Politecnico di Torino. He has published foundational books on the relationships between infrastructural resources, governance, commons, and spillovers.

Evan Selinger is Professor of Philosophy at the Rochester Institute of Technology, where he is also the Head of Research Communications, Community, and Ethics at the Center for Media, Arts, Games, Interaction, and Creativity. A Senior Fellow at the Future of Privacy Forum, his primary research is on the ethical and privacy dimensions of emerging technology. Selinger is a prolific writer and his next anthology is The Cambridge Handbook of Consumer Privacy, co- edited with JulesPolontesky and OmerTene (Cambridge University Press, forthcoming 2018). A strong advocate of public philosophy, he regularly writes for magazines, newspapers, and blogs, including The Guardian, The Atlantic, Slate, and Wired.

Advance Praise Re-Engineering Humanity

Frischmann and Selinger provide a thoroughgoing and balanced examination of the tradeoffs inherent in offloading tasks and decisions to computers. By illuminating these often intricate and hidden tradeoffs, and providing a practical framework for assessing and negotiating them, the authors give us the power to make wiser choices.

Nicolas Carr, author of The Glass Cage: How Our Computers Are Changing Us, from the Foreword

Re-Engineering Humanity brings a pragmatic if somewhat dystopic perspective to the technological phenomena of our age. Humans are learning machines and we learn from our experiences. This book made me ask myself whether the experiences we are providing to our societies are in fact beneficial in the long run.

Vint Cerf, Co-Inventor of the Internet

Frischmann and Selinger deftly and convincingly show why we should be less scared of robots than of becoming more robotic, ourselves. This book will convince you why it’s so important we embed technologies with human values before they embed us with their own. Douglas Rushkoff, author of Present Shock, Program or Be Programmed, and Throwing Rocks at the Google Bus.

Everybody is suddenly worried about technology. Will social media be the end of democracy? Is automation going to eliminate jobs? Will artificial intelligence make people obsolete? Brett Frischmann and Evan Selinger boldly propose that the problem isn’t the rise of ‘smart’ machines but the dumbing down of humanity. This refreshingly philosophical book asks what’s lost when we outsource our decision-making to algorithmic systems we don’t own and barely understand. Better yet, it proposes conceptual and practical ways to reclaim our autonomy and dignity in the face of new forms of computational control.

Astra Taylor, author of The People’s Platform: Taking Back Power and Control in the Digital Age

A magnificent achievement. Writing in the tradition of Neil Postman, Jacque Ellul and Marshall McLuhan, this book is the decade’s deepest and most powerful portrayal of the challenges to freedom created by our full embrace of comprehensive techno-social engineering. A rewarding and stimulating book that merits repeated readings and may also cause you to reconsider how you live life.

Tim Wu, Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law, Columbia Law School, and author of The Attention Merchants

About Cambridge University Press

Cambridge University Press dates from 1534 and is part of the University of Cambridge. We further the University’s mission by disseminating knowledge in the pursuit of education, learning and research at the highest international levels of excellence. Playing a leading role in today’s global marketplace, we have over 50 offices around the globe, and we distribute our products to nearly every country in the world. We publish titles written by authors in over 100 different countries.