Posts tagged with "computers"

6 Ways to Improve PC Performance

There is no getting away from slower computer performance over time. Technology is autonomous so you have to take care of your hardware and software if you like to expand their lifetime. We’ve all experienced slow loading speed and glitches on computers once they get clogged up by different things over time.

Fortunately, there are different methods to clean up all the things that affect your computer performance. However, if you like to keep everything running smoothly, you must do proper maintenance constantly.

In this article, we will go through some of the ways to improve PC performance so you would not need an upgrade.


1. Uninstall Unnecessary Applications

Most of us usually install some application that we need at the time and forget about it when we don’t even use it. These unnecessary applications are called bloatware by their technical term and they are considered to be useless things that eat up system resources, especially when you have start-up applications. It is very important to clean all the unused items that you can find in your computer.


2. Lower the Number of Startup programs


Usually, when your computer takes too much time to boot up, it means that it’s facing trouble by having so many different programs to start at the beginning. All of these programs will also run in the background of your PC and slow down your performance.


You have to open Task Manager and see which programs are eating most of your RAM memory. It is important to keep only essential programs on your startup menu and remove all others.


3. Check for Viruses


Viruses are the main problem in every computer and with today’s wide selection of unsafe websites that we visit you can easily get your computer infected. Even though Windows Defender does a good job protecting your PC from malware, you still have to install software that will keep your PC protected at all times. You should be careful choosing the right anti-virus software just because some of them can take too much space and memory from your RAM in order to run, which will only slow your computer even more. The best way is to create schedule scans and remove all the threats.


4. Disk Cleanup and Defragment


Disk cleanup is the best way to find any unnecessary files in your PC that you haven’t used for a while. It will free up drive space making your computer running smoothly. On the other hand, disk defragment is keeping your drives healthy by removing any gaps from deleted applications on the drive. You can also schedule disk to defragment on weekly basis so you would not have to worry about that.


5. Check your web browser


If the internet content such as websites, pictures or videos is loading slowly, you might take a look at your browser. Some browsers can slow your PC or create some lag, so make sure you are using a reliable internet browser. Also, you must check if your cache is cleaned, just because storing cache for a long time can also slow down your computer.


6. Consider an upgrade


If you successfully completed all the tasks that are mentioned above, then you should consider a small upgrade that will affect PC performance.

Usually, when it is speed in question you might consider two things:


• Upgrading your RAM


• Using startup SSD


RAM plays a big role in every computer’s performance. By upgrading your RAM memory your PC can be able to run more applications at the same time.

However, upgrading RAM memory on regular laptops is a very hard process and almost impossible, so you have to settle with the thing that came in the box. On the other hand, upgrading RAM on desktop is very easy and cheap process that you can do it yourself, but just make sure you have an extra slot in your motherboard.


If you are using a startup SSD your computer should boot up at incredible speed. This solid-state drive (SSD) is taking the pressure of the processors for faster boot time. This is a very powerful drive that can process everything at much greater speed. Since they are expensive, people buy small size 128GB units that should be enough only for the operating system. The rest of the files are stored on normal hard drive.


These are some of the ways where you can improve your PC performance. It is important that you keep everything organized and cleaned constantly, just so you avoid clogging up your computer to a point where is not fixable and keep it running as fast as a winning horse on the Breeders cup race.

How to Design Your Own Interactive Magic Mirror

Interactive magic mirrors are an interesting piece of tech. In an instant, they are able to provide those that look into them with all sorts of information, from personal skincare tips to what the weather outside is like on that day. They are also transforming the way people are now shopping for clothes and makeup, as they are able to show customers what they look like in certain styles.

If interactive magic mirror tech has taken your fancy, why stop at being a consumer of it? Why not go the whole hog and design your very own? To see what you need to do in order to set about this somewhat difficult yet highly rewarding task, make sure to read on.

Source the right tools and equipment

When it comes to designing an interactive magic mirror, you need an abundance of tools and pieces of equipment by your side:

• Computer screen, mouse, and keyboard

• Basic mirror

• Raspberry PI (extremely important)

• USB power cord

• 8GB SD-card

• Adapter

HDMI-to-VGA adapter

As this is fundamentally a piece of IoT technology, you’re also going to need tools that help you to build a circuit board. The first thing that you need to source in this regard is a PCB design tool. By installing and implementing such a tool into your working process, you will be able to design PCBs from idea to manufacture with ease, especially when you allow the CircuitStudio how-to video to assist you along the way. Other tools needed in this instance include a breadboard, a soldering iron, and etching equipment.

Get your sizes spot on

It is incredibly important that you take the literal size of your task into consideration — if something is even just an inch out of place, the whole project could be ruined. This sentiment rings especially true when it comes to matching your mirror with your computer screen. By choosing a screen that doesn’t fit your mirror, the render that the screens gives will be out of place and, subsequently, made to be all but redundant.

Install your Raspberry PI

The previously mentioned piece of equipment known as the Raspberry PI plays a pivotal role in proceedings, so make sure that you don’t forget to source one. When it comes to installing this equipment, just make sure that only one cord is pulled through the bottom of the mirror’s case — this will stop the tech from becoming overloaded with data and, ultimately, it will stop it from overheating.

Don’t forget to install the Raspbian operating system, as doing so will give you free rein to tap into the PI boot sequence as and when you see fit going forward.

Connect your mirror to the Internet

After all the hard work that you put in, it would be a shame to ruin it all by forgetting to connect your magic mirror to the Internet. Once this connection is forged, your mirror will be able to display real-time information, such as weather reports and news bulletins.

When you decide to design a magic mirror, you will be sure to be occupied for months on end. It will all be worth it in the end, though.

RE-ENGINEERING HUMANITY

Everyday new warnings emerge about artificial intelligence rebelling against us. All the while, a more immediate dilemma flies under the radar. Have forces been unleashed that are thrusting humanity down an ill-advised path, one that’s increasingly making us behave like simple machines?

Have a look at the book’s website.

About the Authors

Brett Frischmann is The Charles Widger Endowed University Professor in Law, Business and Economics at Villanova University. He is also an affiliated scholar of the Center for Internet and Society at Stanford Law School, and a trustee for the Nexa Center for Internet & Society, Politecnico di Torino. He has published foundational books on the relationships between infrastructural resources, governance, commons, and spillovers.

Evan Selinger is Professor of Philosophy at the Rochester Institute of Technology, where he is also the Head of Research Communications, Community, and Ethics at the Center for Media, Arts, Games, Interaction, and Creativity. A Senior Fellow at the Future of Privacy Forum, his primary research is on the ethical and privacy dimensions of emerging technology. Selinger is a prolific writer and his next anthology is The Cambridge Handbook of Consumer Privacy, co- edited with JulesPolontesky and OmerTene (Cambridge University Press, forthcoming 2018). A strong advocate of public philosophy, he regularly writes for magazines, newspapers, and blogs, including The Guardian, The Atlantic, Slate, and Wired.

Advance Praise Re-Engineering Humanity

Frischmann and Selinger provide a thoroughgoing and balanced examination of the tradeoffs inherent in offloading tasks and decisions to computers. By illuminating these often intricate and hidden tradeoffs, and providing a practical framework for assessing and negotiating them, the authors give us the power to make wiser choices.

Nicolas Carr, author of The Glass Cage: How Our Computers Are Changing Us, from the Foreword

Re-Engineering Humanity brings a pragmatic if somewhat dystopic perspective to the technological phenomena of our age. Humans are learning machines and we learn from our experiences. This book made me ask myself whether the experiences we are providing to our societies are in fact beneficial in the long run.

Vint Cerf, Co-Inventor of the Internet

Frischmann and Selinger deftly and convincingly show why we should be less scared of robots than of becoming more robotic, ourselves. This book will convince you why it’s so important we embed technologies with human values before they embed us with their own. Douglas Rushkoff, author of Present Shock, Program or Be Programmed, and Throwing Rocks at the Google Bus.

Everybody is suddenly worried about technology. Will social media be the end of democracy? Is automation going to eliminate jobs? Will artificial intelligence make people obsolete? Brett Frischmann and Evan Selinger boldly propose that the problem isn’t the rise of ‘smart’ machines but the dumbing down of humanity. This refreshingly philosophical book asks what’s lost when we outsource our decision-making to algorithmic systems we don’t own and barely understand. Better yet, it proposes conceptual and practical ways to reclaim our autonomy and dignity in the face of new forms of computational control.

Astra Taylor, author of The People’s Platform: Taking Back Power and Control in the Digital Age

A magnificent achievement. Writing in the tradition of Neil Postman, Jacque Ellul and Marshall McLuhan, this book is the decade’s deepest and most powerful portrayal of the challenges to freedom created by our full embrace of comprehensive techno-social engineering. A rewarding and stimulating book that merits repeated readings and may also cause you to reconsider how you live life.

Tim Wu, Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law, Columbia Law School, and author of The Attention Merchants

About Cambridge University Press

Cambridge University Press dates from 1534 and is part of the University of Cambridge. We further the University’s mission by disseminating knowledge in the pursuit of education, learning and research at the highest international levels of excellence. Playing a leading role in today’s global marketplace, we have over 50 offices around the globe, and we distribute our products to nearly every country in the world. We publish titles written by authors in over 100 different countries.